Meet your Jury…

The official list of Jury members for the 2012 Marico Innovation for India has been announced! Listed below are the esteemed members of the Innovation for India Awards Jury who will be bringing their expertise and experience to pick our 2012 winners.

The Jury consists of prominent members from the business, social and government sectors, including governing council members from the Marico Innovation Foundation and many other renowned innovation experts in India.

The full list of Jury members is as follows:

Dr. R.A. Mashelkar – Deeply connected with the innovation movement in India, Dr. Mashelkar is currently the Chairman of India’s National Innovation Foundation, Reliance Innovation Council, Thermax Innovation Council and Marico Innovation Foundation. We had the chance to interview Dr. Mashelkar and learn more about the Indian Innovation Ecosystem, watch video of our interaction below:

Ms. Anu Aga – Ms. Aga is on the Board of Thermax Limited, the leading Indian player in energy and environment management, and also a Council member of the Marico Innovation Foundation. She also supports various organizations that promote education, in particular of underprivileged children from slums. To learn more about Ms. Aga, check out the Marico Innovation Foundation website.

 Dr. Makarand Phadke – Dr. Phadke is the Senior Vice President of the Reliance Innovation Leadership Centre, a group of powerful thought leaders that help shape the organizations’ innovation policy and strategy. Dr. Phadke was the keynote speaker at the Mumbai Innovation Practitioner Session, to hear more about his views on Innovation, check out a short film from the session below:

Mr. Ravi Venkatesan – Mr. Venkatesan is an Independent Director at Infosys, and was the Chairman of Microsoft India. He is a Director on the Board of AB Volvo and a member of the Advisory Boards of Harvard Business School and Bunge Ltd. Learn more about Ravi Venkatesan.

Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala – A firm believer that India needs Indian solutions. Professor Jhunjhunwala, a renowned professor from IIT Madras goes beyond just teaching, he is also an entrepreneur who has founded seven companies centred on new technology and innovations in existing technology. Learn more about Prof. Jhunjhunwala.

Mr. R. Gopalakrishnan – Mr. Gopalakrishnan is Director at Tata Sons. He is also the Chairman of Tata AutoComp Systems, Rallis India and Advinus Therapeutics, Vice Chairman of Tata Chemicals, and Director at Tata Power and Tata Technologies. Read more about Mr. Gopalakrishnana’s views on Innovation.

Mr. Nadir Godrej – Mr. Godrej is Chairman, Godrej Agrovet and the Managing Director of Godrej Industries, India’s leading manufacturer of oleochemicals, edible oils, vanaspati, and bakery fats.  Mr. Godrej is an Indian innovation enthusiast, and Godrej is known for its innovative approach to doing business and developing products.

Dr. Shashi Singh – Dr. Singh is a Director at the Govt. of India’s Defence Institute of Physiology and Allied Sciences and was also Director of DIHAR when they won the 2010 Marico Public Services Innovation Award. Dr. Singh was a panelist at the New Delhi Innovation Practitioner session; watch a short film of the session below:

So there you have it, 8 extremely diverse Thought Leaders with tremendous expertise in understanding and applying innovation have cometogether to help us select the most innovative business, public and social initiatives in India. The next few months of selection will be rigorous and we can’t wait to hear the results in March. Good luck to everyone who applied!

If you want to learn more about the 2012 Awards and progress, follow us on Twitter and Facebook.


, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Innovation for India Awards – Phase 1 of Jury Meetings «
  2. Innovation Awards Step 2. What is making the cut? «
  3. Announcing the Awards: On 30th March 2012, Mumbai. «

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: